2017 Faculty Awards and Fellowships

These are the awards and fellowships for the current year. Click the following links to view awards and fellowships from previous years: 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012.

Michael Alessandri, Clinical Professor of Psychology and Executive Director of UM Center for Autism & Related Disabilities (CARD), will be honored at the 2017 Dade County Bar Associate CEO and Corporate Leaders Diamond for “Fostering Inclusion & Diversity” and "Building South Florida Award." Read more.

Michael Bernath, Charlton W. Tebeau Associate Professor of History, has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Fellowship for 2017. Read more.

Gregory Bush, Associate Professor of History, has been awarded the Florida Historical Society's Harry T. and Harriette V. Moore Award​ for his book, White Sand Black Beach: Civil Rights, Public Space, and Miami's Virginia Key. This award is for books relating to Florida's ethnic groups or dealing with a significant social issue from a historical perspective.

June Teufel Dreyer, Professor of Political Science, received the Japan Study Award from the Japan Institute for National Fundamentals. Read more.

Patricia Engel, Visiting Assistant Professor of Creative Writing, has been awarded the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for her novel The Veins of the Ocean.

David Graf, Professor of Religious Studies, has been selected as an Albright Fellow and received the Seymour Gitin Distinguished Professorship at the W.F. Albright Institute of Archeological Research in Jerusalem.

Daryl Greenfield, Professor of Psychology, was selected as Iowa State University's Barbara E. (Mound) Hansen Early Childhood Lecturer.

Joanna Johnson, Director of English Composition and Senior Lecturer, has been selected as the third place winner of the 2017 Innovations in Research and Research Education Award by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) for her submission, Writing Prose and Writing Code.

Neil Johnson, Professor of Physics, was elected a 2017 Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Ludmil Katzarkov, Professor of Mathematics, was awarded the prestigious Simons Investigator Award by the Simons Foundation. The Simons Foundation’s mission is to advance the frontiers of research in mathematics and the basic sciences.

Felicia Marie Knaul, director of the University of Miami Institute for Advanced Study of the Americas and professor in the Department of Anthropology, Department of International Studies, and at the Miller School of Medicine, has been selected for membership into the presitigious Mexican National Academy of Medicine. Read more.

Vendulka Kubálková, Professor of International Studies, received the Medal of Jan Masaryk, a prestigious award in the Czech Republic.

Mary Lindemann, Professor and Chair of History, has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Fellowship for 2017 (read more). She has also been elected the recipient of a Reimar Lüst Award for International Scholarly and Cultural Exchange.

Louis Herns Marcelin, Associate Professor of Anthropology, has been awarded an ACLS Fellowship for his project Democratization Process, Violence, and Peacebuilding in Contemporary Haiti by the American Council of Learned Societies.

Yolanda Martinez-San Miguel, Professor of Modern Languages & Literatures & Martha S. Weeks Chair in Latin American Studies, has been awarded the 2017  Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender Studies for their book, Trans Studies: The Challenge to Hetero/ Homo Normativities. The award is presented by The Center for LGBTQ Studies (CLAGS) at CUNY’s Graduate Center.

Tarell Alvin McCraney, Playwright and Professor of Theatre and Civic Engagement, was an executive producer and writer for Moonlight, which was based on his autobiographical play In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue and received a Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture - Drama. Moonlight also won three Oscars at the 89th Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

Rajeev Prabhakar, Associate Professor of Chemistry, has received a prestigious international fellowship award from the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) to visit six premier universities and institutes in Japan as a visiting professor. He will be visiting University of Tokyo, Kyoto University, Fukui Institute for Fundamental Chemistry, Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules, Nagoya University, and Hokkaido University to give seminars and establish research collaborations. Read more.

He Wang, Assistant Professor of Physics, has been awarded a grant from the prestigious 2017 Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFSOR) Young Investigator Research Program (YIP) to continue investigating the potential application of next-generation LEDs, solar cells, transistors, and lasers. Read more.